Who We Are

Lana Culver

Construction Project Manager 

What’s a typical day look like for you?

I am no different than most…I wake up, get the kids rolling, let the dog out. After dropping the kids off to school, my first stop is typically the office where I first check my emails. This takes up the bulk of my day- reassigning tasks, following up with appropriate persons, problem solving construction methods, updating schedules, reviewing submittals, etc. Outside of the office I frequent my jobsites. This is where I ensure they’re clean and safe for all workers. I handle any potential issues. I hold my subcontractor relationships to a high regard. Many of the companies I work with now, I have worked with throughout the duration of my career, so it is always nice to see familiar faces. Meetings with subcontractors, owners, architects, engineers, and potential new clients consume the remainder of my workday.  

# Of Years You’ve been in the field we’ve hired you to work in.  

I started working in the construction field in 2015.

Where did you grow up?   

I was born and raised in Sioux City, IA.  

Favorite thing about your neighborhood that you grew up in?  

Riding our bikes, hiking around everywhere without a care in the world. Also living across the street from my grandparents was a special bonus.  

When you were 10 years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?  

I’ve always been very close to my father. Whether he was building a garage, forming, and pouring a driveway, laying flooring, building walls, re-shingling a roof, welding, etc.,—I was right there by his side to watch. He was very good at letting me try things for myself and explaining why and how things were done. Therefore, I always knew my career would be construction based.

When I was 10, I recall telling everyone I wanted to be an architect. This idea stemmed from the nostalgia of working with my dad, along with playing PC games in which I would layout and construct different styles of homes including the finishes on the inside. I have always enjoyed designing buildings and seeing my concept come to life.  

What do you like to do when you are not working?  

The kids and I enjoy riding our dirt bikes, swimming, fishing, or camping. I personally frequent concerts whenever I am able to.   

My three pet peeves?  

I am constantly working on my patience, but I would say other people’s lack of urgency. Wet hair on shower walls is high on the list… gross. And disorganization. 

Name a few of your daily habits (other than showering or brushing your teeth). 

Reading “On This Day in History” articles.